What’s your inspiration?

I’ve been doing a lot of sewing lately, and it got me thinking about why I sew. There are a couple different reasons: first I sew for the store making models or designing new quilt patterns; second I sew for my home- I just finished reupholstering a chair for my living room (granted no sewing was required for that project, just a staple gun); and third I sew to be creative. Sometimes the most fun I can have it delving into my stash and creating something new from what I have on hand. I love the challenge of figuring out what I can make with what I have. I also love creating something from scratch and not having to follow a pattern.

Here’s a look at the tablerunners I designed for the new issue of A View From Bay Window. I call them Strip It! Runners.

from A View From Bay Window April/May edition

 If you’re not familiar with A View From Bay Window, it is a bimonthly magazine that I publish for the store. In each issue you get a newly designed quilt pattern, articles, and a special coupon. The yearly subscription is $18.

I also love sewing for my son Jack, the newest “fix it” man on staff. Here he is working at his tool bench in dad’s studio!

Mr. Fix It

I would love to hear what inspires you to sew! – Katie

Leave a Reply

