Fall Quilt Market!

We’re back from International Quilt Market in Houston, TX and what a wonderful show it was! In my last email I promised to give you the entire scoop on my first Quilt Market as a fabric designer for Robert Kaufman Fabrics. What a fantastic experience! I started my weekend off by leading a Schoolhouse Session on Marketing to Today’s Modern Mom. I had a great turnout, and was delighted to share my tips for selling my new line of fabric, Chirp!

 

Chirp! Schoolhouse

 

 

schoolhouse-2

I had a great crowd! It made my first presentation much easier!!

schoolhouse-crowd,-larger

I also had fantatic assistants!!

schoolhouse-mom

Here is a look at what the attendees recieved- a charm pack of my fabric. I also had examples of kits that we will sell in the shop.

schoolhouse-stuff

After Schoolhouse day, I was stationed in my own little booth off of Robert Kaufman Fabrics for the 3 days of Market.

booth-selling

Here I am helping a new shop write an order for my line!!

booth-selling-2

selling-3

I featured the Kwik Sew pattern #3685 for the nursery set. It is a great pattern with instructions for the bumper pads, crib sheet, crib skirt & diaper stacker.

booth-crib

booth-crib-2

Gina made up these adorable pillows from my panel fabric.

booth-pillows

Here is a look at the precut items that Robert Kaufman is offering: fat quarter bundles and 10″ square sets.

booth-birds

In this photo you can see some of the free patterns that will be offered: DREAM letters and a panel quilt.

booth-dream

And, finally here is a look at my cheerleaders!

My mom, sisters, & myself in the Chirp! booth

My mom, sisters, & myself in the Chirp! booth

We will soon be posting all of the items that will be available for purchase on our website including kits for 3 quilts that take the line from baby to teen, the panel quilt, a memory board, the nursery bedding, & yardage of course! The fabric is scheduled to hit stores nationwide in February. We will be hosting a baby shower for the line of fabric on Saturday March 6th all day, so mark your calendars for a great day of fun!

Although it felt like market was all about my line of fabric, we had lots of fun visiting our favorite vendors & quilting celebrities! Have you heard that Kaye England will be here in Perham on Sunday November 15th? It’s true! We are hosting a dinner with Kaye at the Perham Golf Course along with Blow’s Sew & Vac of Fargo.  Tickets are only $18 in advance ($20 on that day). We guarantee you will have a great time! Kaye will present a trunk show of quilts, demo rulers, etc… and definitely keep you laughing. Sign up by calling the shop or visit our website under Event Tickets.

Quilt & Fabric Designer Kaye England & Sarah at Market

Quilt & Fabric Designer Kaye England & Sarah at Market

My mom, Sarah, was also excited about the new fabric company Blue Hill. They will have a new paper dolls line of fabric in our shop soon.

Blue Hill Fabrics

Blue Hill Fabrics

Maggy was inspired by Amy Bulter’s booth and she and my mom had fun taking a picture in Moda’s booth.

Amy Butler

Amy Butler

moda

 My mom also fell in love with a line of fabric by Karen Montgomery for Timeless Treasures.

timeless

Anyone need a rebel? The motorcycle image in the center of this quilt is actually a panel from Free Spirit Fabrics. Cool!

rebel

On the last day of market I always visit the Seven Islands booth to indulge in fabrics and products from Japan. This year I fell in love with tons of stuff!! We’ve ordered products from this adorable baby line:

japan-baby

And we also ordered prints featuring a cute dog, mushrooms, flowers, and so much more. It is like Christmas every time I open a box from them!

japan-clothes

japan-dog

japan-buying

And, just in time for some Halloween inspiration, take a look at Alexander Henry’s booth display. It won first place for multiple booth entries. The more you look at the pictures the more you see, including the witch who is sewing a black and gray quilt.

ahenry-1

ahenry-2

ahenry-3

ahenry-4

Here we are buying next year’s Halloween prints from Alexander Henry. They will be in the shop in May 2010!

ahenry-buying

It was a great trip, filled with lots of memories! We ordered a fantastic assortment of new fabrics, gifts, & notions. Some items have already started to arrive in the shop, while others will start arriving in the next couple months. I will keep you updated on everything! Happy Quilting!!

3 thoughts on “Fall Quilt Market!

  1. Loved all the photos! Guess What! That is my Mom and Dad as your customers buying the chirp line at quilt market in your pictures. It is a hot item in our store. Love your web store site and fabric and all of it. Congrats on baby. I am also a busy ma-ma of 2 and they are my constant tag alongs. Best Wishes from Sew Sweet Quilt Shop!

    • Thanks! I had a lot of fun working with them at Market. I am excited for your shop to have the trunk show of Chirp in a little while!

Leave a Reply

