Spring Quilt Market 2011

We’re back! We had a fantastic time at International Quilt Market in Salt Lake City, Utah. We found lots of great stuff, chatted with our favorite quilty friends, and I debuted my new line of fabric “Little One”. Here is the scoop:

We started our Market experience with the Schoolhouse Series on Thursday. I was glad to have my session early in the morning. It is always nice to be done early so that I could attend some of the other sessions in the afternoon. Here is a look at me teaching- thanks Fat Quarter Shop for your awesome Twitter updates & photos of my session!

I had a full room! My mom even said they were standing in the hallway to listen! Yippee- it is great feeling all that love from those in attendance.

Here my mom is holding up a quilt from the girl version of my line. Look for 9 Free Patterns on the Robert Kaufman website in August 2011.

Right after my session we headed down to the ballroom to deliver my quilts to the people at Robert Kaufman, and on the way we got a text saying my sister Maggy had just had her baby! Here is August Philip Doll-

It was pretty hard for my mom to be so far away when grandchild #3 arrived!

The next day I started out my morning with an interview by Sharon Pederson for The Quilt Show with Alex & Ricky. You can watch for the video on http://www.thequiltshow.com and look under The Daily Blog. It is not posted yet, but should be sometime in the next couple weeks. I will send out an email when it is posted!

We are standing in the Robert Kaufman Fabrics booth in front of my quilts in the blue colorway.

And here is a photo of my section of the booth thanks to the Robert Kaufman Twitter team!

When the show opened at 9:30 I met my mom at our first appointment: Hoffman Fabrics. Here she is with our rep, Myra sorting through the batiks we are going to order!

After that we were on to our appointment at P&B Fabrics where we picked up this beautiful contemporary line of fabric: Gallery Fiori. Look for it this September.

In the afternoon we spent a delightful hour with Kaye England in the Wilmington Prints booth. Here she and my mom are showcasing her new quilt: English Lane.

We also spent some time with a few of the Westminster/Free Spirit designers. Here I am with Amy Butler in her beautiful booth. She always has the most inspiring designs and she is a lovely person to chat with!

Right behind Amy’s booth was Anna Maria Horner’s. She always has the most interesting ideas in her booth. This Market she was releasing embroidery sets and her new line LouLouThi. Very cool!

And surprisingly, my mom fell in love with one of the lines we saw. It was Silent Cinema by Jenean Morrison. I actually met Jenean while waiting in line earlier in the week so it was great to be able to buy her fabric too.

In the afternoon we headed to our Moda appointment. Their theme for Market was “Country Fair” and we loved the sock monkeys in the ferris wheel!

After we ordered we also got to spin the wheel to see what prize we won: it was a charm pack!

On Saturday our plan was to walk the floor and visit all of the booths we didn’t see the day before. One of our early stops was the ladies from Bird Brain Designs. We loaded up on lots of new dish towel patterns and a great new product for transferring your pattern by Sulky.

One of the most exciting stops for me was PinPeddlers. Starting in June we will be launching a new rewards program with charms. Stay tuned….

We were also really excited to see Heather Mulder Peterson’s new book Livin Large 2. We have sold SO MANY of her original book Livin Large, we just can’t wait to start making models from this book! When we were in the booth ordering Heather was out so we thought we’d feature her husband Joel instead:

Then, just before we left Heather came back to the booth so here she is in front of a few quilts from the book. She is also showing off her new line of prints.

We chatted with Gudrun of GE Designs for awhile. She has a new book with Kansas City Star that is quite good!

And, Kari Carr of New Leaf Stitches will have her first book out this summer! Congrats!

One of our favorite new designers was Sarah Jane for Michael Miller. She is introducing an adorable line of kid’s prints.

We also fell in love with this winter line of prints from Maywood Studios, Fresh Fallen Snow.

Then,  as we were ordering it the designer, Kris Lammers, just happened to be walking by!

Quilt Market would not be complete without a visit to Pearl Louise Designs. Here we are admiring her new winter line.

Two of the most talked about things for my mom at market were the brand new Pellon display that we ordered.

And, that we met Cathy Rigby in the Quilting Treasures booth promoting the Peter Pan fabrics. She was utterly delightful!!

And that was it! We flew home on Sunday and hit the ground running Monday morning.

3 thoughts on “Spring Quilt Market 2011

  1. I was in your class at Market in Salt Lake and was so impressed with your line. I have been looking for the Hopscotch pattern. Is it available yet?

    • Hi Colleen, thanks for attending! The pattern is going to be on the Robert Kaufman website in August. I haven’t written all of the instructions yet, but as soon as I have them done I will post them on my blog too. Look for them in June or July.

Leave a Reply

