There’s nothing like a good book!

Recently I found a lovely little surprise waiting for me on my desk in my stack of mail.  It was a new children’s book called, “Gabby Quilts for Friends” and a letter explaining that is was from a new publishing company in Eugene, OR called Bambini Book Club.  I thought the cover looked cute, but I set it aside and didn’t really look at it again until later that day when I decided to take it home and read it with my kids.  Honestly, we’re sent stuff all of the time in the hope that we will order it to sell in the shop.  And most of the time we end up donating whatever was sent because it really isn’t the right fit for us.  I knew my kids would be a good indicator of whether or not it was a good book!

gabby quiltsLet’s just say that the first time through Jack and Izzy (6 and 4) both sat silently and listened intently to the story.  It has a lovely rhyming quality that makes it easy to listen to and fun to read.  Izzy demanded a repeat performance right away and then it was whisked away to her room to be one of her bedtime stories for the night.

As a quilter, I love this story about a little girl who decides to make a quilt for herself to keep warm for the winter.  What I love even more is the fact that she includes her three friends’ requests in her quilt.  It teaches a great lesson to kids that we make things for others as well as ourselves.

izzy and lolaIzzy has already requested making her own “Gabby Quilt” for her bed for the winter.  I can’t wait to see what colors and patterns she picks out and which of her bedtime friends will get to have a say in her design! (Lola just likes to be doing whatever Izzy is doing).

The folks at Bambini Book Club have a quick and easy downloadable quilt pattern for you to get started making your own quilt.  Visit their website, www.bambinibookclub.com for more information and to learn more about Gabby! And, you can purchase your own copy of “Gabby Quilts For Friends” here at the shop or on our website: www.baywindowquiltshop.com.

I think it would make a great Christmas gift for all those kids who love to be creative!

2 thoughts on “There’s nothing like a good book!

  1. This looks like a fun book for old quilters, too! Now, if I could borrow those two adorable girls of yours to read this book to, I’d drop everything and drive to the shop immediately! I did download the pattern from the ‘Gabby’ site – nice and simple for a new little quilter. Thanks, Katie,
    ~Kathy T

Leave a Reply

