Are you ready for applique? Moda Sampler Shuffle continues…

Variety is the spice of life and this week you’ll get some with an applique block! I was excited to see this when I took a look at this week’s blocks.  It was fun to get out the needle and thread and do a little hand stitching.

week six picSo here goes, week six is underway!

Remember last week when I told you I had made up a bunch of flying geese units for my inner border and I ended up with a lot of orange ones?  Well, when I took a look at Block 16 I was delighted to see that it was made up of the same flying geese.  I took a bunch of the ones I already had sewn together and used them to create my Block 16.

Block 16 Moda Sampler Shuffle

Block 16 Moda Sampler Shuffle

You’ll notice that’s why I have a variety of fabrics for my backgrounds and the geese.  I had been using up scraps to make my flying geese units.  I actually love the way the scrappy arrangement looks- I’m totally going to pretend I planned it that way!

Click on the link below to download the pattern for Block 16

my_sampler-shuffle-block16

Block 17 is the delightful appliqued bird design.  At first I wasn’t sure if I would use regular cotton or wool for my appliques.  In the end I decided to use wool for a couple reasons.  I love the texture wool gives a project and the intensity of the colors that I had on hand were perfect in matching the colors of my blocks.  I also like that I can add the applique to my project without any fusible or glue behind it when I use wool.

IMG_4172My favorite way to applique wool to a project is to use a coordinating thread or perle cotton and a primitive whip stitch.  This is basically just an easy stitch that you do around each applique to hold it in place.  After I had my bird done I decided to add a branch in it’s mouth and a letter H charm that I’ve had for a long time in honor of my family’s last name.  I always enjoy finding ways to make a project more personal and this was an easy way to make the block meaningful to me.

Click on the link below for the Block 17 pattern

my_sampler-shuffle-block17

And the last block of the week is 18.  This block has a lot going for it.  When you look at the pattern be sure to check out the alternate arrangement that they show at the bottom.  I think it’s pretty cool, but was already committed to making it like the original design.

Moda Sampler Shuffle Block 18

Moda Sampler Shuffle Block 18

This block went together quickly, especially when I remembered to trim my half square triangle blocks down after I had pieced them! Live and learn! Click on the link below for the Block 18 pattern.

my_sampler-shuffle-block18

I hope you enjoy making this week’s blocks.  I’d love to see what you come up with, especially the applique block.  Be sure to share your images on Instagram and include me @katiehennagir

Also, don’t forget to print out your patterns along the way.  We are able to keep all of the patterns posted during the sew along but will have to take them down once the sew along is over.  Happy sewing! -Katie

3 thoughts on “Are you ready for applique? Moda Sampler Shuffle continues…

  1. Hi Katie, I have not begun to sew any of the blocks yet but am enjoying studying the layouts and seeing yours done up. An observation/question on this weeks Block 18 – Your sample does not look like either options included with the pattern but rather looks a little confusing to my eye. Was this your intended layout or a surprise result? Just curious.

    Linda

    • Hi Linda, you are correct! I did change up the layout a little bit. That’s the great thing about these blocks, you have a lot of creative freedom to make them any way you like.

  2. Love the addition to the applique block! It’s good to see what other blocks can come from the same pieces, too. Thanks for leaving your post up, because I realized when I got this week’s that I had missed last week’s!

Leave a Reply

