Week Nine is Fine- Moda Sampler Shuffle!

Ah Christmas vacation, a lovely time for children to stay home and take up all of their mom’s time so that she doesn’t get her sewing done.  Actually I did get my sewing done, I just had a lot of helpers along the way.  Here is Week Nine!

week nine picThis week I did a lot of sewing/cutting/pressing in small increments of time.  Whenever I had a minute to myself I would try to accomplish a little bit more on these blocks.  It’s amazing how quickly my kids got bored staying home.  And anytime they came up into my sewing room with me, it just meant that they also wanted to sew/paint/draw/or just make a big mess.  So this week’s blocks ended up being a bit less accurate and one was even sewn a little wrong- let’s take a look!

Block 25 (can you believe we’re on 25 already)!

Block 25 Moda Sampler Shuffle

Block 25 Moda Sampler Shuffle

This block turned out much more interesting than I thought it would.  When I first looked at the picture I thought it was pretty much like the others.  What I love is how the background corner squares stop the lines of the orange creating little arrows of orange fabric.  It was also nice to incorporate 2 fabrics in the block.

Click on the link below to download Block 25 instructions

my_sampler-shuffle-block25

One look at Block 26 and I was a happy mama! Quick and easy and big pieces too.  Woo-Hoo!! I actually sewed this one first this week because I was able to get it done lickety-split!

IMG_4308I’ve started to notice that I’m partial to the blue and orange colors when I’m picking out the fabrics for my blocks.  Now that we’re near the end, it’s getting harder to find new combinations.

Click on the link below to download the instructions for Block 26.

my_sampler-shuffle-block26

And finally Block 27.  I was working on this block at the end of week and I will admit I was distracted.  I’m pretty sure my kids had asked me about 100 questions already that day so I was sewing and talking to them at the same time.  Not a good combination if you want to make the block just like the pattern!

Block 27 Moda Sampler Shuffle

Block 27 Moda Sampler Shuffle

I was excited to use this background fabric again, I just love it! And the pattern is pretty straight forward.  I got to the end where I was sewing the flying geese units to the block and I realized- oops I was supposed to have them all pointing in towards the center square.  I could have ripped out the last two seams I had made and changed it, but that is just not in my nature. So I left it and decided it was just one of the many things that will make my quilt unique to me.

Click on the link below to download the pattern for Block 27.

my_sampler-shuffle-block27

So that’s it for this week.  We have one more week of quilt blocks and then we’re on to sewing the top together.  The fabric choices have been swimming around in my head for weeks now.  I’m still very undecided on how I’m going to layout my blocks and with which fabrics…. that will come later!  Happy sewing and Happy New Year! -Katie

One thought on “Week Nine is Fine- Moda Sampler Shuffle!

Leave a Reply

