Happy Halloween!

Halloween is one of my favorite times of the year. My son Jack and I love to decorate for the season and also plan an epic Halloween party. Every year I make new quilts, try new recipes, and find clever ways to sew for my party. I can’t wait to share some of those ideas with all of you!

Do you have a lot of scrap fabrics laying around? I definitely do! I decided to create a quilt pattern that uses just 2 colors (whatever colors you would like to use) to create a stunning quilt. In our example I used orange and black. I used up all sorts of Halloween fabrics that I had laying around. I also didn’t mind if some of my black fabrics had orange print on them or the other way around.

Here’s a look at what the quilt ended up looking like:

Scrappy Jack Quilt

This quilt is most striking from far away because that is when you can really see the design play.

I hope you enjoy digging through your stash to create this quilt. Here are the instructions:

I also love sewing with wool this time of the year. A black and cream color story are perfect for a more sophisticated Halloween and I love using toweling fabric and the background.

You’ll find the instructions for these pillows and witch hat runner here (the super cute mummy was an Indygo Junction pattern a number of years ago that I just had to make).

This year for our Halloween party I decided to make pillowcases for the guests to take home with them. I’ve made trick or treat bags and other small things over the years, but settled on pillowcases because they have a dual purpose. They can be used in their traditional format on your bed or you can attempt to get the most candy ever if you use them as your trick or treat bag on Halloween!

I created a fun printable tag and a little sign to hang by the pillowcases for guests to take as they leave the party.

I’ve included those printables for you to use as well.

My absolute favorite pillowcase instructions are from the www.allpeoplequilt.com website. It’s called the Roll It Up Pillowcase pattern, and I love that all of your seams are encased meaning no fraying threads as you wash your pillowcases!

This year I also tried a new drink recipe from www.thesweetestoccasion.com it is Caramel Apple Sangria. It was so easy to make ahead, which I love when you’re planning a party.

Check out the full recipe on her blog, but here are the basic ingredients:

5 ingredients

Produce

  • 4 Apples

Condiments

  • 1/4 cup Caramel syrup

Drinks

  • 8 cups Apple cider, fresh

Beer, Wine & Liquor

  • 1 cup Unflavored or caramel vodka
  • 1 1 liter bottle White wine

Here is a link to her full recipe: https://thesweetestoccasion.com/2015/10/caramel-apple-sangria/

I hope you’ve enjoyed some of my Halloween magic for this year. I can’t wait to celebrate the holiday with my family and friends!

2 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

Leave a comment